The Institute

Presentation

Unique in the world, the Institut Restellini is a pioneer in the contribution of the most advanced technologies to the field of art history, and of documentation, by combining the scientific methods with the traditional stylistic and historical analysis.
_

The Institut Restellini has as its vocation – in total and absolute independence from the art market – to work alongside the best scientists, on any work of art, and not only on works by Modigliani. 

In order to achieve that goal, it closely collaborates with the SGS laboratory in Geneva, and thus performs complete research for any work of art: be it ancient, modern or contemporary. While integrating the latest scientific techniques, it is able to produce most scientifically accomplished catalogues raisonnés.

Innovative and even revolutionary techniques

Complete scientific analysis thanks to integrated digital imagery.

The integration of electronic components, directly associating the work to all of its corpus of electronic and scientific imagery.

Traceability of the works as a means to fight the traffic and stealing of art works.

Marc Restellini

After more than 25 years’ experience in the field of catalogues raisonnés, scientific analysis of art works and documentary research in Art History, Marc Restellini is adding a new string to his bow by creating his own Institute for Scientific and Documentary Research in Art History:
The Institut Restellini
_

While being a main contributor – during the past two decades – to the world of culture, of museums and of successful exhibitions, Marc Restellini has also been a major pioneer in the scientific area of Art History. First of all during his studies, when he elaborated, as early as in his Master’s thesis, a catalogue raisonné based on the most recent data processing methods, which had never before been applied to that field of human sciences..
_

“By imposing his own methods, he has created a new type of catalogue raisonné, whose model: the Catalogue Modigliani remains unique worldwide”
“He was the very first to set up a protocol of comparative pigmentary analysis for the production of a paintings catalogue”
 

He then created in Paris I – Panthéon – Sorbonne, under the impulse of Professor Marc Le Bot, a postgraduate seminar of methodology in Art History, in order to link data processing to the doctoral students’ research. He oversaw that seminar in conjunction with the CNRS (represented by Professor Levaillant) to set up the teaching of the methodologies, which he had himself developed for his own research. 

He was once again a pioneer when he decided, in 1997, on Daniel Wildenstein’s invitation, to devote himself to the elaboration of Amedeo Modigliani’s catalogue raisonné, imposing new scientific criteria never before utilized in the field of research on works of art. By imposing his own methods, he has created a new type of catalogue raisonné, whose model: the Catalogue Modigliani remains unique worldwide: with its 600 scientific files on the whole of Modigliani’s corpus (genuine and fakes) and systematic analyses for each work, Marc Restellini created a unique comparative calibration, which he associated to a systematic usage of every new technology as soon as it appeared. He was thus the very first to set up a protocol of comparative pigmentary analysis, for the elaboration of a paintings catalogue. He is also the first to use magnetic resonance, for a non-intrusive pigmentary analysis. He was the first to systematize, for a catalogue of art works, the use of infra-red plates and, later on, the first to employ innovative methods like the digital processes of “fake colors”, providing very effective results.

The Institut Restellini can offer a due diligence report, which summarizes the results of scientific analysis together with the expert’s opinion, as a complete updated record on each work:

Technical examination report
(analysis of the medium and technique)

Stylistic comparative
analysis

Documentation
(history, exhibitions, literature)

Conclusions
of the study

Contact

For any information, please fill out the contact form below:




   Cancel


Institut Restellini
legal notice
Design by Neotech

L'Institut

Présentation

Unique au monde, lʼInstitut Restellini est pionnier dans l’application des technologies les plus récentes au domaine de lʼHistoire de lʼArt et de la documentation, en alliant les méthodes scientifiques à lʼanalyse stylistique et historique traditionnelle.
_

LʼInstitut Restellini a vocation — en totale et absolue indépendance du marché de lʼart — à travailler avec les meilleurs scientifiques sur toute œuvre dʼart et pas uniquement celles de Modigliani.

Il s’appuie, pour ce faire, sur un partenariat avec le laboratoire SGS, Genève, ce qui lui permet de faire réaliser la totalité des analyses sur toute œuvre d’art ancienne, moderne ou contemporaine et, en intégrant les dernières techniques  existantes, de créer les catalogues raisonnés les plus aboutis scientifiquement.

Des techniques innovantes, voire révolutionnaires

Analyse scientifique complète par imagerie numérique intégrée

Intégration de composants électroniques associant directement l’œuvre à tout son corpus d’imagerie électronique et scientifique.

Traçabilité des œuvres et lutte contre le trafic et vol d’œuvre d’art

Marc Restellini

Marc Restellini, après plus de 25 ans dʼexpérience dans le domaine des catalogues raisonnés, de lʼanalyse scientifique des œuvres dʼart et de la recherche documentaire en Histoire de lʼArt, ajoute une nouvelle corde à son arc en créant son propre Institut de Recherche et dʼAnalyse scientifique et documentaire en Histoire de lʼArt : lʼInstitut Restellini.
_

En plus de sa contribution au monde de la culture, des musées et des expositions marquantes de ces quinze dernières années, Marc Restellini fut également un pionnier majeur dans le domaine scientifique de lʼHistoire de lʼArt. Dans ses études, tout dʼabord, au cours desquelles il élabora dès son mémoire de maîtrise un catalogue raisonné basé sur les méthodes informatiques les plus récentes qui nʼavaient encore jamais été appliquées à ce domaine des sciences humaines.
_

“En imposant ses méthodes il a créé une nouvelle forme de catalogue raisonné dont le modèle du catalogue Modigliani reste unique au monde”
“ Il est ainsi le premier à mettre au point un protocole d’analyse pigmentaire comparatif pour l’élaboration d’un catalogue de peinture. ”
 

Il créa ensuite à Paris I-Panthéon-Sorbonne, sous lʼimpulsion du Professeur Marc Le Bot, un séminaire de troisième cycle de méthodologie en Histoire de lʼArt pour associer lʼinformatique aux recherches des doctorants. Il co-anima ce séminaire en collaboration avec le CNRS (représenté par le Professeur Levaillant) pour mettre en place un enseignement des méthodologies quʼil avait lui-même développées pour ses propres recherches.

Il est encore pionnier quand il décide en 1997, à lʼinvitation de Daniel Wildenstein, de sʼatteler à lʼélaboration du catalogue raisonné de l’œuvre d’Amedeo Modigliani, imposant des normes scientifiques jamais mises en œuvre dans le domaine de la recherche sur les œuvres dʼart. Il a ainsi créé une nouvelle forme de catalogue raisonné dont le modèle du catalogue Modigliani reste unique au monde : avec ses 600 dossiers scientifiques sur lʼensemble du corpus de Modigliani (authentiques aussi bien qu’apocryphes), accompagnés d’analyses systématiques pour chaque œuvre, Marc Restellini établit un étalonnage comparatif unique quʼil associe à un usage systématique de toute nouvelle technologie dès son apparition. Il sera ainsi le premier à mettre au point un protocole dʼanalyse pigmentaire comparatif pour lʼélaboration dʼun catalogue raisonné de peinture. Il est également le premier à utiliser la résonance magnétique, pour une analyse pigmentaire non-intrusive. Il sera le premier, et encore le seul, à systématiser pour un catalogue dʼœuvres dʼart lʼusage des clichés infrarouges et plus tard, le premier à utiliser des méthodes innovantes comme les procédés numériques de « fausses couleurs », offrant des résultats très performants.

L'Institut Restellini propose à ses clients un rapport de due diligence (diligence raisonnable), à savoir une synthèse entre les résultats de laboratoire et l'avis des experts, pour constituer des dossiers complets de mise à jour des connaissances sur l'œuvre :

Bilan technique
(analyse du support, médium...)

Analyse stylistique
comparative

Bilan documentaire
(historique, expositions, bibliographie)

Conclusions
de l'étude

Contact

Pour toute demande de devis, utilisez le formulaire suivant




(optionnel)

   Annuler


Institut Restellini
mentions légales
Design by Neotech